Poem Composed in Honor of Edith Stein……..Martyr


I once believed that martyrs lived in an age long past

and that their fate, by their faith was cast.

That by their choice their blood would shed

as witness to their Lord’s steps they led.

Yet I have come now to see, that martyrs we all begin to be

the moment we reject this world’s sin

yet realize that  this world we are in

is our starting place from which to save

as many souls from the eternal grave

of self that drags so many down

to loss.

I once believed that to follow Him as best I could

I would have to hang  from that Holy Wood

or at least remove myself from this place

which has long rejected His suffering Face.

But long since then have I come to see

that being a martyr can also be

the delicate balance that one must make

to dream in Heaven one must  wake

to this earth’s calls.

For to follow Christ we must pursue the difficult path

a call which brings its own wrath

of leaving, yet cleaving, to our fellow souls

for following Him, demands the goals

to witness His Presence in a world so blind

and see that Presence in those souls we find

who need Him most.

I now believe, that we begin as martyrs with the call perfect

which is ours unless we choose to reject

That we must live our lives as the Hymn

“If anyone comes to me, I want to lead them to Him.”

Copyright, 2012   Gabriel Garnica


Leave a Reply

